…you are my sunshine!

My baby sister is heading off to college (actually she’s already there now, but wasn’t when I made this for her), and I knew she would need something to spruce up her dorm room.

Enter the sunburst mirror.

I am completely in love with sunburst mirrors (or starburst mirrors) because each mirror is completely different – like this or this.

But everything I saw was too heavy and taste specific for a dorm room. Until a quick google search came up with these beauties from amazon and west elm.  Perfect! Light & simple,  and I knew where I could get all the materials – MICHAELS! (my home away from home).

Materials

- Silver spray paint (had this on hand) $0

- Mosaic mirrors, they come in a pack of 25 in three sizes smaller than 1 inch $2.50 each *4= $10

- skewers (like the kind you cook kabobs on!) $4 – I think I used 36

- Mirror for the center $3

- Hot glue and gun $0

Total $17

After picking up all my supplies I started sticking the skewers in a piece of styrofoam I had from a recently purchase blender, so  I could spray all around the skewers without having to touch them.  Two coats later I was ready to start gluing.

I started by tracing the center mirror on a piece of cardboard and cutting it out.  If I wanted the mirror to look more “store-bought” I probably would use wood, but since that would make it heavier and I don’t have a saw - cardboard it was!

I used my eyeball it method and one of the skewers as a ruler to break the cardboard into 16 sections (I didn’t take a picture of this, but I’m sure you can image a circle broken into 16 parts!)

Then I got to work hot gluing the skewers to the cardboard back, alternating how far I glued the skewer in so the mirror wouldn’t be perfectly even.

I couldn’t think of a better way to secure the top, center mirror – so I squeezed a ton of hot glue all over, and placed the mirror on top. *Note: two months later it’s still hanging strong!

Now for the time consuming fun part! I glued 100 of those tiny mosaic mirrors (averaging 3 to each skewer)- making sure nothing was symmetrical, and there were no repeating patterns.

Since I couldn’t exactly nail a picture wall mount to the cardboard, I went with plan B, hot glue! The whole mirror  is so light that I wasn’t afraid of the glue not holding.

I couldn’t resist hanging the finished product on my wall to see how it looked – and decided I had to make one for myself!

LOVE! I may have gone a little overboard with the mirrors, but I love how they reflect light around the room.

For the mirror I made to keep, I added  a simple circle cut out from foam to frame the (larger) center mirror, but everything else is the same!


16 Comments on “…you are my sunshine!”

  1. Sheila says:

    OMG! That is soooo cool – what a great idea! You are so creative – maybe you have found a new calling?

  2. Barb! Look at you. I’m so proud. Who’s famous now?

  3. Terri P. says:

    This is seriously awesome! Thanks for the tutorial. I made the Sunburst mirror from Under the Table and Dreaming (http://www.bystephanielynn.com/2009/11/sunburst-raindrop-starburst.html) and I love it but I have to say that I <3 this one more. Great job and thanks for sharing! (I found you through craftgawker.)

  4. Jess says:

    Saw this at hobby lobby for 40 great idea and way to save

  5. Elaine Frazier says:

    I just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to figure the dimensions on this mirror. I have been looking at this from a couple of different stores wanting to buy it but not wanting to part with the $99.99 tax. I can’t thank you enough. Now I just hope I can make mine as well as yours. I love it. Even though this one is just different enough to call it mine.

    • Barbara says:

      That was my same exact feeling – why pay $100 when I can make it my self! It really was easy, so I’m sure yours will look wonderful! Keep me posted on how it goes!

  6. [...] Here, on Shelterness, we like sunburst mirrors very much. That’s why I can’t pass by any DIY version of such mirror. Here is a $17 DIY sunburst mirror that feature 100 tiny mosaic mirrors on it. Of course it also has a mirror in the center and skewers that supports all these tiny mirrors. These skewers are painted with silver spray paint and mosaic mirrors are hot glued to them after that. Check out details of this project on Life Under Construction. [...]

  7. Jess says:

    My bad it was at hobby lobby for 119 I can’t wait to make my own and save all that money

  8. Rachelle says:

    I just finished this. Love it! I didn’t bother with the little mirrors though. Thanks for the DIY tutorial!

  9. Jenny says:

    I absolutely love this tutorial! It’s beautiful! I’m not quite understanding the part where you cut the cardboard into pieces. Do you trace a piece of cardboard the same size as the skewer for a backing? I’m confused.

    • schmitty21 says:

      I was confused at first, too. She said “break the cardboard into pieces” but I think she just means trace it out into 16 wedges/sections. She didn’t cut it.

  10. [...] out the following DIYs for sunburst mirror inspirations: DIY (clockwise from top left): mini mirrors, paper, metal-like, ombre wood shims DIY (clockwise from top left): multi-color wood shims, paper [...]

  11. Mom of six says:

    I bought a wooden circle the same size as my mirror to put on the back.


Have a comment?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.