Drink Coasters

I will never, ever, buy drink coasters again.

After spending $20 on cute monogrammed coasters, ruining them, and then going through 6 more of the cardboard kind (like the kind at outback steak house), I decided, never again.  I know it’s my fault, I fill my glass with so much ice the glass sweats, and the coasters get moldy, ripped, or just super dingy.

So I’ve found a new alternative…

Head on over to the flooring department at your hardware store, and look around.  You thinking what I’m thinking? Tiles!  Costing anywhere from 39 cents, to $8 or $9, you can pick anything.

These slate tiles only cost 39 cents per tile (that’s $2.34 for a set of 6 – cheaper than any coasters you could find in the store)

Slightly more expensive, but these slate tiles are just beautiful…

If slate’s not your thing, these sea glass tiles are perfect!

The sides are finished and rounded, making them the perfect coasters!

You can even use laminate wood flooring – in pretty much any finish.

There are TONS of other options, but I think you get the point!  I picked up a few sea glass tiles for our family room, and they work great.  The sea glass tiles are actually flat and smooth on the back so I just put them on the coffee table, but if you’re afraid of scratching your furniture, buy a roll of cork from the craft store, and glue your tile to the cork.

After the glue is dry, cut with a razor blade  and enjoy!

Tie up a couple “coasters” with a cute ribbon, or some twine for a simple housewarming gift!

One Comment on “Drink Coasters”

  1. You can also decoupage the tiles with a super cute pattern. (From my Big Ass Book of Crafts lol.)


Have a comment?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.